icons

Enjoy my content?

Follow by Email

Sunday, August 2, 2020

LSBBT PROMO + GIVEAWAY: Enemies of Doves by Shanessa Gluhm (Historical Fiction)


ENEMIES OF DOVES
by
Shanessa Gluhm

Genre: Historical Fiction / Mystery
Publisher: TouchPoint Press
Publication Date: March 20, 2020
Number of Pages: 324 pages


SCROLL DOWN FOR THE GIVEAWAY!







Told in alternating timelines from World War II to 1992, debut author Shanessa Gluhm's Enemies of Doves is a tale of family secrets, jealousy, and deception perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Katherine Webb.

On a summer night in 1932, twelve-year-old Joel Fitchett wanders into an East Texas diner badly beaten and carrying his unconscious brother, Clancy. Though both boys claim they have no memory of what happened, the horrific details are etched into their minds as deep as the scar left across Joel's face. Thirteen years later, both men still struggle with the aftershocks of that long-ago night and the pact they made to hide the truth. When they find themselves at the center of a murder investigation, they make a decision that will change everything. A second lie, a second pact, and, for a time, a second chance.

In 1991 college student Garrison Stark travels to Texas chasing a rumor that Clancy Fitchett is his biological grandfather. Clancy has been missing since 1946, and Garrison hopes to find him and, in doing so, find a family. What he doesn't expect to discover is a tangle of secrets spanning sixty years involving Clancy, Joel, and the woman they both loved, Lorraine.



PRAISE for Enemies of Doves!

"Enemies of Doves weaves a timeline of events that makes for compelling reading. It's an ecological system of interlocking decisions, discoveries, and circumstances that spans some sixty years of love, danger, and revelations." —D. Donovan, senior reviewer, Midwest Book Review

“I’ve read some amazing thriller and suspense stories this year, but Enemies of Doves takes the mid-year prize. I’m not one for dual timelines, but this one was perfection with the fifty-year time-span moving forward in tandem. Garrison’s search will cause time to collide, unlocking a lifetime of secrets, and THE PLOT TWIST OF 2020!” —author Felicia Denise

“Shanessa Gluhm is a brilliant writer. I very seldom read a book that I cannot figure out how it will end, but this one literally blew me away!” —Lori Thomas Harrington, author of The Point

CLICK TO PURCHASE
    







Shanessa Gluhm’s East Texas Scrapbook Page for Enemies of Doves


I set Enemies of Doves in East Texas because I spent my childhood summers there, visiting my grandparents. I think there is a special kind of nostalgia tied to memories from childhood. Here are some of my favorite East Texas memories.


1. My Pops showing us Lake  Murvaul in Carthage. This lake was originally featured in Enemies of Doves, but I later found out it wasn’t built till 1956, so I used Lake Lamond in Longview instead.

2. The adults always played a game called Loony Rummy. As my cousins and I grew, we learned to play it too. Just like Clancy, my Pops always held aces.

3. My cousins and I put on plays each summer. One that stands out was the Beverly Hillbillies. I was Ellie May and even wrestled a blow-up alligator. 

4. A highlight of vacation was always a trip to a nearby drive-through zoo. The animals would come right up to the car for us to feed them. 

5. We also traveled to Shreveport every summer to visit Hamel’s Amusement Park. I was always afraid of the roller coaster but enjoyed cooling off on the log ride. 

6. My grandparents' neighbors had a pool they allowed us to claim as our own each summer. My cousins and I all learned to swim in it. As I got older, I brought friends with me to Carthage. We put lemon juice in our hair and spent our days swimming and tanning. 





Shanessa Gluhm works as a librarian at an elementary school in New Mexico, where she lives with her husband and children. It was during her own elementary days when a teacher encouraged Shanessa to write and share stories with the class. She hasn’t stopped writing since. Enemies of Doves is her debut novel. 

TWO WINNERS!
1st: Signed Copy + $20 Amazon Card
2nd: eBook  JULY 28-August 7, 2020
(US ONLY)

FOR DIRECT LINKS TO EACH POST ON THIS TOUR, UPDATED DAILY, 
or visit the blogs directly:

7/28/20
Playlist
7/28/20
BONUS Post
7/29/20
Top Ten List
7/30/20
Review
7/31/20
Review
8/1/20
Author Interview
8/2/20
Scrapbook Page
8/3/20
Review
8/4/20
Deleted Scene
8/5/20
Review
8/6/20
Review

   blog tour services provided by
  

2 comments:

  1. Thank you for being a part of the blog tour! I appreciate it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the nostalgia here! Having grown up in and out of East Texas as well, it, too has a special place in my heart :) Thanks to the author for sharing!

    ReplyDelete